Elk Hunting

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 TerryfromAR

TerryfromAR

Hunting Resource

• Moderators
  • 1,608 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, fishing, spending time with my kids and wife, anything that gets me out of the house especially pertaining to my outdoor persuits. computers, technology, movies,

Posted 31 March 2006 - 06:04 AM

Alright Ya'll i'm a newbie, and i'm gonna do everything in my power to be at E3, i just want to get a little advice from seasoned Elk chasers... on calling, and tracking elk, and i would imagine anyone who is thinking about hunting elk for the first time would benefit from any advice ya'll could disperse.

Jere, if'n it ain't too much trouble could you pin this one? Maybe like an online Elk Hunting Guide. :D
Semper Fi

#2 HUNT

HUNT

Moving Up

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 31 March 2006 - 04:29 PM

Get the elknut dvds they are the best down to earth elk calling learning tools made. elknut.com
HUNT SAFE & SMART

Put one in the engine room

#3 bonecollector34

bonecollector34

Never Logs Off

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,569 posts

Posted 31 March 2006 - 05:45 PM

Elk hunting can be relatively easy or tremendously challenging, escpecially for a 1st time hunter. Most of my elk have came pretty easy and all but 2 bulls were taken on a general tag on public land.

My 1st elk hunt took 45 minutes in the mountains and a 309BC 6x6 to show for it. The next year 30 minutes and a 5x5 on the ground.

I absolutely admit luck and location were the primary factors besides getting into the timber and giving it my all and I had no idea how to hunt elk.

You can watch all the videos in the world and it will only help so much, your senses tend to get overwhelmed by the sights, smells and overall experience of being in the mountains on an elk hunt.