• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Whip

Whip

Always Here

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Interests:Long walks in the woods carrying heavy equpment in poor weather. I live to hunt...other than that I am a full-time PhD student in entomology.

Posted 08 March 2007 - 12:24 AM

I beleive they are really cutting corners now. I just got the "custom" strings I ordered for my Hoyt, and I was shocked at the quality. The thing that really had me at a loss was the bus cables. They are 20 strand strings, but where the bus splits, they didn't loop it!! 10 strands to one side and 10 strands to the other. No loop for travel as even the cheapest stock bow strings have........This means half the material to each limb. I am a bit worried about wear only having 10 strands compared to say 24. I don't think the X-coat is gonna help me much in that department. Anyone else ordered stings from them lately and had this happen???...if so, what is their explanation?
I think Neely Custom Bowstrings in Oregon will be receiving all my business from now on. I think Thomas has it right.
Sean Whipple
PSE staff
It's not a passion, it's an obsession. ~Mossy Oak

#2 Whip

Whip

Always Here

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Interests:Long walks in the woods carrying heavy equpment in poor weather. I live to hunt...other than that I am a full-time PhD student in entomology.

Posted 08 March 2007 - 12:26 AM

Plus, the material is 8125, which I have found to be kindof difficult to mess with compared to 452X like Neely uses....grrrr.
Sean Whipple
PSE staff

#3 Jeremiah

Jeremiah

Hunting Resource

• Owner/Admin
  • 3,087 posts
  • Interests:God, Family, Hunting, Archery, Outdoors, Computers, Website Development...

Posted 08 March 2007 - 03:23 AM

I won't even try to tell anyone that WC strings today are the same as they were when they first came out.