#1 Kurt

Kurt

Regular

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 13 April 2006 - 01:13 PM

Hey Everyone,

Well as many of you know I am swamped with a full time job, new business on the side, not to mention a terrific wife, a 3year old son and 1yr. old daughter. Well enough about me.

I want to go turkey hunting. I have gone several times in the past but sadly admit I have never taken one or even shot at one for that matter.

I think I am going to try and squeeze a couple days in toward the end of the month. I recently met someone from Missouri that is going to do some work with our company and maybe start doing some hunting videos of his own so I think he is going to fly out and go hunting with me to show me the ropes.

I can't wait.

Any advice???

Kurt

#2 PA RIDGE RUNNER

PA RIDGE RUNNER

Life Member

• Authors
  • 5,702 posts

Posted 13 April 2006 - 01:27 PM

Kurt I am no expert turkey hunter but have managed to kill a few. To me the ideal set up for a spring gobbler hunt is to find one on the roost. Sneak in to about 80 to 125 yds put out several decoys and get settled in real comfortable against a tree wider than your shoulders if possible. When it starts to get light call softly several times. If he answers call softly again. If he answers shut up for a while and only answer once in a while or that old boy may just sit there and gobble. If he appears to be doing this make a sound by slapping your hat on your leg slowly build it and then slow down. This imitates a bird flying down. Give a louder call and get ready. If he is going to come it will be very soon.
If God had a refrigerator would your picture be on it.
Remember the Ark was built by amateurs, the titanic by professionals.

#3 Kurt

Kurt

Regular

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 18 April 2006 - 08:42 AM

Thanks for the info. I will need all of the help I can get.

Kurt

#4 Leo

Leo

Hunting Resource

• Administrators
  • 3,155 posts

Posted 18 April 2006 - 09:00 AM