• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 silvertip-co

silvertip-co

Totally Addicted

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,326 posts
  • Interests:hunting, fly fishing, long range shooting, hiking, camping, panning gold, reloading

Posted 06 December 2007 - 07:07 AM

Was thinkin about buyin a short light mtn rifle in spring 08. Thot maybe a model 7 Rem in 7mm-08 but I have all the 25-06 research that I did still stuck in my head. Anyone got a model 7 and how do you like it, or anyone with a 7mm-08 and how do you like it???
SVENSKA50@HOTMAIL.COM

NRA LIFE MEMBER

#2 Whip

Whip

Always Here

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Interests:Long walks in the woods carrying heavy equpment in poor weather. I live to hunt...other than that I am a full-time PhD student in entomology.

Posted 06 December 2007 - 05:37 PM

I have remington model7 in 7mm-08 stainless/synthetic and I love it. I have read many articles (and I share the opinion) that it is the best whitetail deer gun ever. It is very light and compact for long hikes in the mountains or rough terrain. Mine is very accurate and shoots much better than sub-MOA. For a mountain gun....I would choose this make/model/caliber over a 25-06 any day of the week.

The negatives......even though it is a small round....the light weight of the rifle makes it buck pretty hard.
Additionally.....it is truly only a .243 case necked out to a 7mm bullet. Ideal for deer sized game, and I have seen elk shot with this rifle, but much beyond that it isn't enough gun.
Sean Whipple
PSE staff
It's not a passion, it's an obsession. ~Mossy Oak

#3 PA RIDGE RUNNER

PA RIDGE RUNNER

Life Member

• Authors
  • 5,702 posts

Posted 07 December 2007 - 06:40 PM

Whip you are correct that the 7mm08 is a necked up 243. Both of them are children of the 308.
If God had a refrigerator would your picture be on it.
Remember the Ark was built by amateurs, the titanic by professionals.

#4 paturbo

paturbo

Totally Addicted

• Members