6 replies to this topic

#1 Whitetiger

Whitetiger

Totally Addicted

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,271 posts

Posted 04 October 2008 - 09:44 PM

We've all seen the ads for uv killer clothing treatment. Looks like it works if your hunting under a black light but does the deer really see in the uv spectrum? Does anyone use this product & have you noticed a difference? I hunt from the ground and am always looking for an edge. I had a gift card for cabelas and while I was there, I picked up a bottle to try. Was wondering if I wasted the credit I coulda used for some more code blue. I cant say my camo is bad because I had 3 doe and one hunter from 13-20 yards of me & they didnt even know I was there. The hunter eventually spotted my orange back tag and apologize as he left.

#2 Spirithawk

Spirithawk

Never Logs Off

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,343 posts

Posted 05 October 2008 - 12:13 PM

Well, they claim that deer see it but I've been hunting for over 30 years. Long before any of these UV killers came out. Long before state of the art camo and scent killer clothing and sprays. Long before most of the stuff they claim you must have to be a successful deer hunter, and you know what? I killed more deer back then than now. :lol: As for the question about deer seeing the UV Spectrum, I always hunted in my old USAF field jacket and blue jeans, orange stocking cap and whatever orange vest I could come up with. I had deer walk right up to me on several occasions. Had them feed around me close enough to touch. They didn't seem to mind what I was wearing one bit. I think there was only two reasons for that. 1) I always stored my hunting clothes in a sack with cedar boughs or wild mint to mask human scent. Both of which are natural smells deer are use to. 2) I always sat perfectly still. No smoking a cigaret, no munching on snacks or drinking anything. Deer spot movement quicker than anything and I believe that is the most common reason for getting busted.