• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 BigE-FSU

BigE-FSU

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 December 2008 - 11:20 AM

Im new to hunting, and its small game season right now. My buddy and I are trying to hunt squirrels, but after going out to the state forest twice we still havnt come across any game. Are we hunting in the wrong area, or are we just trying to hunt them the wrong way? Ive read alot of info on trying to stalk the squirrels and using two people to get them to keep from hiding on the opposite side of a tree, but we still havn't seen any out there. What should we do to find some game? And also, are there any other critters we should be hunting for ie. raccoons, opossums?

#2 Leo

Leo

Hunting Resource

• Administrators
  • 3,155 posts

Posted 03 December 2008 - 05:10 PM

Public land squirrels can be pretty challenging. They are good at hiding but not good at keeping their mouths shut. Stop and listen a lot for them "barking". Go to that area, sit down be still and wait about 30 minutes.
Posted Image

#3 PA RIDGE RUNNER

PA RIDGE RUNNER

Life Member

• Authors
  • 5,702 posts

Posted 03 December 2008 - 06:22 PM

Yep Leo is right on. After you sit down keep the eyes up. Sometimes a squirrel will bolt for parts unknown a few minutes after you sit down. You also need to find their food. Here in the ridge and valley part of PA we find the most squirrels in woods near corn fields. They are very commonly found around nut trees in the fall. Around here I also look on top of stumps for cuttings that is a sure sign too.
If God had a refrigerator would your picture be on it.
Remember the Ark was built by amateurs, the titanic by professionals.

#4 Spirithawk

Spirithawk

Never Logs Off

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,343 posts

Posted 06 December 2008 - 10:12 AM