2 replies to this topic

#1 Geoff / TBow

Geoff / TBow

Always Here

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 487 posts

Posted 07 January 2009 - 08:00 PM

I've been bowhunting seriously now for nye on 36 years. I can probably tag on another 10 or 12 years where I took my dad's old bows out in to the fields beside our house to simulate african safaris for field mice, frogs, toads and bales of hay. And as a kid if you've never shot that skyward arrow just to see if you could launch it out of site, then I guess your common sense gene was a lot stronger than most of the rest of us at that juvenile age. I've always had a facination with the bow and arrow.

I guess over the years, I've owned near 30 bows and still have about 10 or so of them to this day. I don't change equipment all that aften, and like to keep my primary hunting bow for a few years, as I really don't see the need to upgrade constantly. Once I find a bow that suits my needs and I become comfortable with it, I probably stick with it for 5 to 7 years.

But what I was curious about, is what do you all do with your old bows once you opt for a new bow? Do you trade the old unit to cut the cost of that new toy? Or maybe the trade value is not all that great with the dealer and you manage the sale of the old girl yourself? Or maybe you give it away to a friend who is interested in getting into archery? Do you let your old bows gather dust in the garage or basement and just figure your wife or kids can deal with it in handling your estate once make that last great hunting trip? (By this I mean you've kicked the bucket. Not that you've taken that one trip that has finally ticked the bride off so she sells all of your gear while you're gone!). Do you find other uses for your old bows such as prime candidates for bowfishing rigs? Or do you use them to adorn the walls of your "man room?