• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Honky Cat

Honky Cat

Always Here

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Interests:Church, Family, Friends. One and the same.

Posted 27 September 2009 - 03:33 PM

hey guys, I have been using a stick-on flipper rest for about two years now without a major problem. I tried a drop away, but it held the shaft too far left of center and could not be adjusted any farther to the right. Turns out the cut out on my PSE recurve really only allows for a few options. I can't help but worry about the flipper a little though because it has shaved off my fletching a couple of times. That means it must be hitting pretty hard passing through there. If the sticky part should wear out in the woods, it would be an annoying reason to pack up early. I would like to know If there is a more permanant/ reliable way to perform this function. I haven't heard any testimonies about the hair rest but I was told I would have to switch to soft fletching to shoot right off the bow like that (obviously). Hit me up with some options and I will be eternally greatful.
Don't pray for a light load. Pray for a strong back.

#2 Jeremiah

Jeremiah

Hunting Resource

• Owner/Admin
  • 3,087 posts
  • Interests:God, Family, Hunting, Archery, Outdoors, Computers, Website Development...

Posted 27 September 2009 - 04:14 PM

As you are learning, even the best quality Flipper-style rests leave some things to be desired. There are several solid alternative options assuming the bow has a Berger Button hole threaded through the riser. (Which, apparently it does.) As you have already learned, however, "centershot" rests (including drop-aways) aren't really amongst them.