17 replies to this topic

#1 TXRedneck

TXRedneck

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 08 November 2009 - 02:41 AM

Greetings,
Like the title says I am new to Muzzle loading and I have a ton questions I hope somebody can help me with. I currently bought me a TC Omega .50cal with the camo stock and weather shield. I went ahead and bought I believe is all the neccessary accessories i might need, Ball starter, needle pick, capping tool, etc... It is going to be about a month before I can actualy shoot my new gun because I am still over seas. So I am trying to learn everything I can before I get home so I don't mess up my new gun... I have researched and figured out about all the powders and bullets and I guess my first question is, can I shoot ball ammo out of the new inline muzzle loaders with a 1/28 twist barrel? when it comes to lubed patches what thickness should i use with the ball ammo? Can i shoot Hornady's PA conical bullets out of the 1/28 twist barrel and if so do I use a lubed patch?? what about Hornady's great plains bullets, do i need to use a lube patch with them? What about them 209 primers. I have noticed some of them are called 209A, 209N, 209.. can I use all of these in a 209 system? What about #11's can I use them? What is a good primer?
Ok i think I will stop there before I wear out my welcome..LOL thanks ahead of time for all the advice..

#2 TXRedneck

TXRedneck

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 08 November 2009 - 07:45 AM

Ok I did some research and i read where Round balls in a 1:28 twist inline is basically a no go unless you use a low powder charge... So i think I answered that question, So what about patch thickness etc.. how do you determine that and do you use them with the Hornady Great plain bullets, and PA Conicals..

Thanks

#3 McBruce

McBruce

Marketing

• Managers
  • 2,155 posts