12 replies to this topic

#1 JameyK

JameyK

Moving Up

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 19 February 2010 - 09:52 PM

Just got new carbon arrows. wondering if anyone can tell me which adhesive i should use. Didnt know if there was anything special out these days. Its bee awhile since i had to buy new shafts

Edited by JameyK, 20 February 2010 - 06:15 AM.

Shootem in the face!!

#2 Leo

Leo

Hunting Resource

• Administrators
  • 3,155 posts

Posted 20 February 2010 - 11:23 AM

I like Loctite Brand "Super Glue Gel" for fletchings and inserts on carbon shafts.
Posted Image

#3 Honky Cat

Honky Cat

Always Here

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Interests:Church, Family, Friends. One and the same.

Posted 20 February 2010 - 03:35 PM

You all know that I'm not an archery expert by any means but I'll throw my limited experience at this. When I bought my bow (1st bow) the guy at the shop cut all my arrrows to length an then heated the inserts with a torch and rubbed a hot glue stick on them. Then pushed them into the shafts and wiped of the excess before it got too hard.

This might not seem important to you more experienced shooters that always hit the backstop, but for a good while I missed... often. Behind my backstop was a short wall of landscape timbers that the arrows hit. I am going somewhere with this. I found, to my delight, that the hot glue held the tips or broadheads in very well but would pop out when I hit the wood. I had to use pliers to pull the field points out then glue the inserts back in but the important thing is that the $8 shaft wasn't damaged.

I don't remember if the nocks were already on there or what type of glue was used on them. I haven't broke one yet so it probably doesn't matter. Elmers would probably work for nocks but I wouldn't tempt fate.

Hope that helps somebody.
Don't pray for a light load. Pray for a strong back.

#4 Leo

Leo

Hunting Resource

• Administrators
  • 3,155 posts

Posted 20 February 2010 - 06:59 PM