Concealed Carry & Buying Ammo?
Posted 01 March 2010 - 11:37 AM
Posted 01 March 2010 - 12:33 PM
In Minnesota, stores are required to post a sign if they wish for you to not bring guns into the store. Now the great part is, I can choose to ignore the sign. If/when store employees notice that I have a gun, the must ask me to leave, or they can call an officer and have him ask me to leave. If I then leave, it is considered no harm-no foul. If I balk at the suggestion, I get a $25 misdemeanor citation, and it does not affect my carry permit. About 2 weeks ago, a man entered a grocery store, armed with a large kitchen knife. He passed on several women, stating he did not want to stab a woman, and attacked the first male employee he saw, who, of course, was un-armed. You never know when/where it could happen. When an attack happens in seconds, having cops just minutes away is not much of a comfort.
This is how it reads in Missouri;
In accordance with Section 571.107 RSMo., you may not carry a concealed
weapon in the following places:
• any police, sheriff, or Highway Patrol office or station without consent;
• within 25 feet of any polling place on Election Day;
• adult or juvenile jail or institution;
• courthouse or facilities;
• any meeting of a government body (except by a member with a
concealed carry endorsement);
• bar without consent;
• where prohibited by federal law;
• child care facility (without consent of manager);
• riverboat gambling facility;
• amusement parks;
• any church or place of worship; without permission
of Minister or person representing religious organization
• any sports arena or stadium (with seating for more than 5,000);
• hospitals; and,
• private or public property where posted.
Possession of a firearm in a vehicle on the premises of any of the
above-listed locations is not prohibited so long as the firearm is not removed
from the vehicle or brandished while the vehicle is on the premises.
Carrying a concealed firearm in any location specified above is not a
criminal act. However, you can be denied access to the premises or may
be removed from the premises for doing so. If a peace officer is summoned:
• Upon the first offense, you can be cited and fined up to $100.
• If within six months, a second offense occurs, you can be fined up
to $200, and your concealed firearms endorsement can be suspended
for a period of one year.
• If within one year of the first offense a third citation for a similar violation
is issued, you may be fined up to $500, and your concealed
carry endorsement revoked. If your concealed carry endorsement
is revoked, you are not eligible for the endorsement for a period of
Posted 01 March 2010 - 06:06 PM
Posted 03 March 2010 - 09:10 PM
Posted 03 March 2010 - 10:01 PM
Posted 03 March 2010 - 11:22 PM
Well, what these store manger's and big wigs, need to understand, at least in most cases such as here in Missouri, is what I exsplained to the Wal Mart manager. ( Yep, I had a talk with him today.) I exsplained that they don't just hand out Concealed Carry Permits. First I had to take a firearms safety course, taught by an NRA Certfied instructer, and I had to prove my ability to not just handle my weapon safely but also that I could hit what I was shooting at, all at a cost of $120. Then I had to pass, not only a local background check, but a Federal one as well. Then I had to pay another fee to the Sherrifs Dept. plus an additional fee the the National Background Check Fund. Not exactly like your every day crook that simply steals a gun and carries it illegaly for the purpose of robbing and killing people. I also exsplained that in the case of an emergency, a person with a concealed carry permit is very likely to be much closer than a cop. He agreed and promised to have a talk with the employees working the sporting goods dept. Guess I'll see how it goes next time I buy ammo.
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users