Tick Control...

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Jeremiah

Jeremiah

Hunting Resource

• Owner/Admin
  • 3,087 posts
  • Interests:God, Family, Hunting, Archery, Outdoors, Computers, Website Development...

Posted 16 August 2010 - 11:38 PM

I have been using Permethrin-based products for a few years now to control (kill) ticks in the spring gobbler season. The past couple years, however, it seems as though the ticks in some of the areas I hunt are also becoming troublesome in the first few weeks of fall archery season as well. (Basically, until the first good frost... Which sometimes doesn't happen until three or four weeks into hunting. :doh2: )

The beauty of Permethrin-based products is that they are generally odorless once dry. So, they still do quite nicely for white-tail hunting. Unfortunately, there are two problems I find with Permethrin-based products.
1) They're somewhat expensive.
2) I can't always hang my clothing outside to apply the spray. This leaves me to do it in my basement and this stuff is not to be taken lightly. (Though FDA approved and supposedly safe to humans once dry, it is still a known neurotoxin that I would rather not breathe in at all.)

So, I have a couple questions...
1) Has anyone ever bought concentrated Permethrin, say from a lawn and garden center, and mixed it with water as directed, poured it into a spray bottle, and then applied it to hunting clothing?
2) Has anyone found an easier or safer way to apply the product than hanging garments and spraying them down completely? (I read a suggestion of spraying the Permethrin into a large bag and then quickly inserting the clothing and sealing the bag up overnight. Anyone try such a thing? Was it effective?)