• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 Leo

Leo

Hunting Resource

• Administrators
  • 3,155 posts

Posted 20 September 2010 - 10:22 AM

All right I'm trying to start a thread with a lot of participation here. So here's an invitation to join in and ask questions about going to Africa to bowhunt.

I've only been twice so I'm not an expert but I do have some valuable experience I am willing to share with those who are interested.

So please start asking! Let's make this thread a resource.

Edited by Leo, 20 September 2010 - 03:32 PM.

Posted Image

#2 Rowdy Yates

Rowdy Yates

Never Logs Off

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,632 posts

Posted 20 September 2010 - 10:52 AM

Leo thank you for opening up on this hunt. Africa for any hunter has to be a dream hunt no matter what you hunt with gun or bow.

Mathews bows just came out with a African Safari model for what I take is a specialty type bow for the selected smaller group that have an African hunt in the works. The specs are not out yet on this bow but it does raise the idea of what's really is needed for an African bowhunt. I read your specs briefly on your setup from different posts but maybe after taking the biggest antelope in Africa, and by anyones standards a huge animal, what bow and arrow combination is realistic for huntinig there?
"Keep the sun forever at your back, the wind forever in your face, and may forever God bless you out there on the trail."

#3 Leo

Leo

Hunting Resource

• Administrators
  • 3,155 posts

Posted 20 September 2010 - 11:56 AM

Leo thank you for opening up on this hunt. Africa for any hunter has to be a dream hunt no matter what you hunt with gun or bow.