• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Shrapnal

Shrapnal

Regular

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Interests:Love fishing, camping, and soon will be out hunting. :)

Posted 22 February 2011 - 10:36 AM

hi all, just popping in to say "hey".

I love to fish, camp and soon will be hunting. I'm currently taking the Hunters' Safety Course with my daughter. Most of it, I find is common sense, but, I'm still learning alot. the last class we had was on survival. Interesting stuff. hope I never have to use it. We have also been shooting bows last couple classes. I'm a pretty good shot with the guns, but the bow is something I'd have to practice. i don't quite get the sights on a compound. either that or the bows we're shooting are off.

Any advice you can give a new hunter would be appreciated. Like what caliber you'd recommend for a female that wants to hunt everything from coyotes to moose.

Hope to chat and meet new members soon. :)

#2 TerryfromAR

TerryfromAR

Hunting Resource

• Moderators
  • 1,608 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, fishing, spending time with my kids and wife, anything that gets me out of the house especially pertaining to my outdoor persuits. computers, technology, movies,

Posted 22 February 2011 - 06:25 PM

Shrapnal, one rifle you might consider if you're looking for something that flexible would probably be a lever action 30/30. It shoots flat, has a light recoil, and carries a good punch. Though you will probably get several varied opinions. The best thing to do is if feasable let her shoot several different calibers. I don't know how many shooters you know but if they're like alot of the people I know, they'll all be happy to welcome any new shooter they can get into the fold. Other possible calibers are the .270, and .243 though the 243 may be a little light for moose. A rifle with interchangeable barrels like the T/C Encore or the Rossi Trifecta are another option.

Edited by TerryfromAR, 22 February 2011 - 06:26 PM.