• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 PA RIDGE RUNNER

PA RIDGE RUNNER

Life Member

• Authors
  • 5,702 posts

Posted 16 December 2011 - 07:16 PM

Since PA's flintlock season is only a few days away and I did not feel comfortable with my previous sighting in session I got it out today and did some shooting. I have been shooting open sights since 1955 and I did a really dumb thing. I was shooting to the right and twice moved the rear sight to the right and finally was all the way off the paper. Kind of in disgust I stopped for lunch and while eating I suddenly remembered that I needed to move my point of impact to the left so needed to move the rear sight to the left. I finally readjusted the sight and although not quite to my liking yet it is close. One more session and look out deer here I come just a belching smoke and maybe fill the pocket full of tags I still have. I was also reminded that my flintlock shooting skills were just a tad rusty.

Edited by PA RIDGE RUNNER, 16 December 2011 - 07:19 PM.

If God had a refrigerator would your picture be on it.
Remember the Ark was built by amateurs, the titanic by professionals.

#2 sschneid73

sschneid73

Totally Addicted

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,173 posts

Posted 16 December 2011 - 11:17 PM

Happy shooting Paul and may you fill your freezer.

Steve

#3 PA RIDGE RUNNER

PA RIDGE RUNNER

Life Member

• Authors
  • 5,702 posts

Posted 17 December 2011 - 12:33 PM

Thank you Steve. It may look like I am getting desparate to fill the freezer but remember I got two deer in Kansas and brought back meat from there and Eric and I share equally in our kills so I have the equilivant of another deer already in the freezer. I have passed up a couple of chip shots so far so It isn't like we will go hungry or anything like that. I ,ust have had a senior moment on the sight movement I know better than that but did it anyway.

#4 PA RIDGE RUNNER

PA RIDGE RUNNER

Life Member

• Authors
  • 5,702 posts