• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 mudduck

mudduck

Can Charge Rent

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 980 posts
  • Interests:Interested in almost everything, unless it bores me, then I'm not interested anymore

Posted 28 May 2013 - 02:12 PM

In my area of Minnesota, the ammo shortage (is a complete absence of ammo a shortage?) continues. .40 cal, 9mm, .45 acp, .380. Gone. .22, .223, .308. Gone. I've seen the letters written by ammo manufacturers stating they are working 24/7 to rectify the situation. They seem to think "hoarding" is the problem.Well, I don't build rockets for a living, so I'm no rocket scientist, but I do have questions. How many boxes of .45acp would one hoard at 40+ dollars for 50 rds? Does anyone know how much ammo it would take just to restock Cabellas,Gander Mountain, and all the other big stores, not to mention all the mom and pop operations? If the ammo companies are indeed working 24/7, where are all the bullets going? I know dozens of serious shooters, they can't locate ammo either. I know we just got done debating gun control, And in the proposals they said "Hunting firearms" would not be affected by the proposed legislation. Well the legislation got defeated. Now I can still buy 30.06, 30.30, .270, 7mm,.243. I can even find .44mag and .357 sometimes. But nothing in pistol that can be shot out of a semi auto, and nothing in rifle that would not be considered "traditional hunting" cals. I'm beginning to think, if you can't control the guns, then just dry up the ammo. I might buy the "hoarding" argument, for the first 2 months after the tragedy at Sandy Hook elementary,and the gun grabbers were going crazy, but I think something else is happening now. Shooting ranges in this area are vacant, even the nice indoor ones. Anybody seeing the same issues? O.K., Im done,lol 

#2 Leo

Leo

Hunting Resource

• Administrators
  • 3,155 posts

Posted 28 May 2013 - 04:13 PM