• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 cayugad

cayugad

Hunting Resource

• Moderators
  • 881 posts

Posted 11 September 2014 - 09:16 PM

A friend called me and told me about his son passing hunters safety.  And all the kid has talked about is deer hunting this year.  He's a good kid.  Well behaved and good in school and at home.  My friend asked me what rifle would be good for him do to his somewhat small size.  I sat and thought about it for a while.  He then asked if I had a rifle the boy could use. I then asked how long his shots would be and he said 50 yards would be the max.  And that they would hunt from blinds.  I then thought of my SKS.

So I was telling him about the SKS 7362x39mm rifle I have.  Its a Norinco brand made in China.  Its pretty accurate with its open sights.  But I decided to throw a scope on the rifle for the boy.  I have a BSA Combat 4x32mm scope around the house.  So I mounted it.  I had also purchased a lot of new ammo for the rifle since when I take the rifle out, ammo seems to disappear in that thing.

1-sksnewscope_zps7d6a7294.jpg

I had some Russian Ammunition, Wolf Ammunition, and Winchester.  The Winchester I do not waste as it is very expensive.  So I grabbed two boxes of the Russian Ammo.

At 25 yards the first group was left, off the paper.  I was shocked. As when I bore sighted the rifle it looked good.  So I made some drastic adjustments and shot a five shot group.  That was still to the left of the bull, so more adjustment.  I then made a four shot group and was kind of pleased with that.

Then I tried the open sights shooting 10 shots.  This was a shock as last year the rifle was dead on with open sights at 25 yards.  With the scope I was close so I backed the rifle out to 50 yards and shot at the lower right corner circle five times.  Now all this is off the bench mind you.